Ver Angola


Angolans return to command of TAAG which replaces administration after controversies

The State decided to change the management of the airline TAAG, choosing António dos Santos Domingos as president of the board of directors and Nelson de Oliveira, who returns to the “home” where he worked for 38 years, as executive president.

: Facebook TAAG - Linhas Aéreas de Angola
Facebook TAAG - Linhas Aéreas de Angola  

The change was formalized this Tuesday at an extraordinary general meeting of the company, whose shareholders are the Institute of State Assets and Participations (50 percent), the National Air Navigation Company (40 percent) and the Employees' Social Fund and Workers in the Transport Sector (10 percent).

According to a statement from the Ministry of Transport (Mintrans), the authority carried out "an extensive and careful search and selection process" to choose new managers, with a view to "responding to the need for greater and more robust alignment of the airline recovery started in 2021".

The carrier was managed by Spaniard Eduardo Soria, who assumed the role of executive president in October 2021, with Ana Major presiding over the board of directors.

The last two years have been marked by labor conflict at the company, which is going through a period of restructuring and an accumulation of complaints from passengers, unhappy with the company's frequent flight delays and cancellations.

But also due to the return to profits, with TAAG recording a net profit of 460.1 million kwanzas in 2022, after years of losses, reinforcement and opening of new routes and acquisition of aircraft.

The Government wants to privatize TAAG, but does not commit to dates.

According to Mintrans, Santos Domingos built his career over more than 30 years with leadership roles in companies such as Sonangol, Sonair, Helimalongo, Sonagesa, Banco Caixa Angola, Sonagás and Banco de Desenvolvimento de Angola.

Nelson de Oliveira, who currently worked at the National Civil Aviation Authority (ANAC), returns to TAAG, where over 38 years he performed various technical roles, continually evolving in his career to senior management roles in the maintenance and engineering.

Joining the team as a non-executive director is Miguel Carneiro, who worked as a consultant to the Transport Minister's office.

The remaining directors remain in office: Misayely Celestino Isaac Abias, Iuri Miguel Guerra Neto, as non-executive directors, and João Miguel da Gama Lobo Semedo, Sais Daalaoui, Maria Manuela Resende da Costa Pardal, Nowel R. Nagala, Custódia Gabriela Pereira Bastos and Susana Ramos, as executive directors.


Permita anúncios no nosso site


Parece que está a utilizar um bloqueador de anúncios
Utilizamos a publicidade para podermos oferecer-lhe notícias diariamente.