Ver Angola


João Lourenço reshapes the Government. Meet the new faces of the executive

The President of the Republic made public the list of new members of the executive, which shrank from 28 to 21 ministries, notably Manuel Augusto's departure from Foreign Affairs, replaced by his Secretary of State Tete António.


The long list of exonerations released this Wednesday by the Civil House of João Lourenço includes 17 ministers and 24 secretaries of state, as well as the secretary of the President of the Republic for Political, Constitutional and Parliamentary Affairs and the director of the Office of Psychological and Information from the Security House of the President of the Republic.

But among these many will assume the same functions in the new executive, while others will have new portfolios and others will ascend in government power.

This is the case of Tete António, until now Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs, who will assume the portfolio left vacant by Manuel Augusto.

Already Adjany Costa, the young biologist who won a United Nations award for the most distinguished environmentalists last year, will in fact be a new face in the executive, assuming a super ministry that brings together Culture, Tourism and Environment.

The former ministers Maria da Piedade Jesus, Maria Ângela Bragança and Paula Coelho remain outside.

Manuel Gomes da Conceição Homem makes his debut in the new Ministry of Telecommunications, Information Technologies and Social Communication, until now divided between Telecommunications and Information Technologies, tutored by José Carvalho da Rocha, and Social Communication, led by Nuno Caldas Albino.

This, in turn, will be the new Secretary of State for Social Communication, leaving out Celso Malavoleneke.

Leaving is also Salviano de Jesus Sequeira, who is leaving National Defense, while João Ernesto dos Santos until now minister of Former Combatants and Veterans of the Fatherland takes over the new department of National Defense and Veterans of the Fatherland.

Frederico Cardoso leaves the post of Minister of State and Chief of Staff of the President of the Republic, being replaced by the head of the Ministry of Territory Administration, Adão Francisco Almeida. Marcy Cláudio Lopes, former secretary of the President of the Republic for Political, Constitutional and Parliamentary Affairs, will take his place.

António Francisco de Assis, who was responsible for Agriculture and Forestry, will be the new Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries, hitherto autonomous in two ministries, with the Minister of Fisheries and Sea, Maria Antonieta Batista, out of the executive.

Also Bernarda Silva, until now Minister of Industry leaves the Government, this sector being absorbed by the new Ministry of Industry and Commerce, where the holder of Trade, Vítor Fernandes, remains.

Diamantino Pedro Azevedo, Minister of Mineral Resources and Petroleum, who joins Gas in his department, as well as Manuel Tavares de Almeida, Minister of Construction and Public Works, now responsible for Public Works and Spatial Planning, previously assumed by Ana Paula Carvalho.

The number of secretaries of state in the new government outfit is reduced from 24 to 18, with some of the new former secretaries of state being ministers such as Nuno Caldas Albino (Social Communication), Paula Coelho (Environment), Maria da Piedade Jesus (Culture) and Ana Paula Carvalho (Spatial Planning and Housing), while 11 others remain in office.

Unchanged and out of this organic recomposition are the ministries of Social Action, Family and Promotion of Women, Public Administration, Labor and Social Security, Economy and Planning, Energy and Water, Justice and Human Rights, Youth and Sports, Health, Finance, Education, Higher Education, Science, Technology and Innovation, and Interior and Transport.


Permita anúncios no nosso site


Parece que está a utilizar um bloqueador de anúncios
Utilizamos a publicidade para podermos oferecer-lhe notícias diariamente.