Ver Angola


Constitution validates results that give victory to the MPLA. João Lourenço with the green light

The Constitutional Court validated the results of the general elections announced by the National Electoral Commission (CNE), which gave the victory to the Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA), the last resort.


At the end of this stage, and according to the judge President Laurinda Cardoso, the electoral dispute phase is concluded and the President of the Republic, João Lourenço, the vice-president, Esperança da Costa, and the elected members of the National Assembly must be invested in their respective functions. .

Laurinda Cardoso, who read a statement without the right to ask questions, said that the Constitutional Court, in its guise of electoral court, which is ultimately responsible for validating the elections, concluded this Thursday an analysis of the litigation appeals submitted by the Convergência Ampla de Salvation of Angola - Electoral Coalition (CASA-CE) and National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (UNITA).

According to the magistrate, the court carried out a thorough and careful verification of the evidence presented by the appellants (the parties) and by the defendant (National Electoral Commission), which resulted in a summary report.

After comparing the evidence, the judges decided in a plenary session to reject the applicants' claims, so the TC declares the final results announced by the CNE valid, in the context of the general elections, he indicated.

The judge stressed that the judgments have no appeal, so they automatically become final.

"Accordingly, and once the electoral litigation phase has been completed, the minutes of the final results can be published in the Diário da República for all legal purposes", she announced.

Last week, CNE president Manuel Pereira da Silva released the final tabulation minutes of the August 24 general elections, which proclaimed the Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA) and its candidate, João Lourenço, as winners. with 51.17 percent of the votes, followed by the National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (UNITA) with 43.95 percent.

With these results, the MPLA elected 124 deputies and UNITA 90 deputies, almost double the 2017 elections.

The PRS Party and the debuting Humanist Party of Angola (PHA) each elect two deputies.

CASA-CE, the National Patriotic Alliance (APN) and P-Njango did not obtain seats in the National Assembly, which in the 2022-2027 legislature will have 220 deputies.

UNITA together with the Democratic Bloc (BD) filed a contentious electoral appeal with the Angolan Constitutional Court pointing out alleged "irregularities in the process", whose ruling must be made public, when the body did not uphold the CASA-CE appeal.


Permita anúncios no nosso site


Parece que está a utilizar um bloqueador de anúncios
Utilizamos a publicidade para podermos oferecer-lhe notícias diariamente.