Ver Angola


MPLA wants to create another province, proposing to divide Luanda into two

The secretariat of the Political Bureau of the MPLA Central Committee recommended to its parliamentary group the creation of another province, resulting from the division of Luanda, the country's capital, as part of the discussion on the administrative division of the country.


The Proposed Administrative Political Division, currently under discussion in the National Assembly, was analyzed during the 10th extraordinary meeting of the secretariat of the Political Bureau of the Central Committee of the Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA), held under the presidency of the party leader, João Lourenço, according to a statement issued at the end of the meeting.

In the statement, read by the MPLA spokesperson, Esteves Hilário, no details are given, other than recommending the division of the province of Luanda into two, thus creating yet another third province for the country, in addition to the two already generally approved in the parliament.

In February this year, the National Assembly generally approved a proposed law that creates two more provinces and 161 new municipalities, with votes against from the UNITA parliamentary group, the largest opposition party.

The proposal foresees that Angola will have, from next year, 20 provinces (two more than the current ones), 325 municipalities and 375 communes, proposing to divide the province of Moxico, the largest in the country, into two, with Moxico, based in Luena, and Cassai Zambeze, based in Cazombo, and the province of Cuando Cubango, equally in two, giving rise to Cubango, based in Menongue, and Cuando, based in Mavinga.


Permita anúncios no nosso site


Parece que está a utilizar um bloqueador de anúncios
Utilizamos a publicidade para podermos oferecer-lhe notícias diariamente.