Ver Angola


Petro de Luanda beats Interclube and wins national basketball title

Petro de Luanda became five-time basketball champions after beating Interclube 81-67. Winning the title took place last Saturday, in the fourth game of the Unitel Basket 2023-2024 play-offs.

: Facebook Petro de Luanda
Facebook Petro de Luanda  

According to a note from Petro de Luanda, to which VerAngola had access, by winning this match, which took place at the Cidadela Desportiva pavilion, Petro "achieved the unprecedented feat of winning five championships in a row".

Throughout the match, the 'tricolores' were always ahead on the scoreboard. In the first quarter of the game, Petro was already winning with a difference of 10 points (17-7).

At the time of the half-time whistle, Petro de Luanda was already winning by a difference of 13 points, with the score reading 37-24.

At the end of the third quarter of the game, the 'tricolores' were winning 54-41, having maintained the advantage on the scoreboard at the end of the match, which ended 81-67, in favor of Petro.

The final phase of Unitel Basket 2023-2024 was being played in the best of five games 'play-off' system. However, the decision was made in this fourth match because Petro de Luanda already had two victories in previous matches.

Remember that in the first play-off game Petro won 92-80, while the second was won by Interclube (97-92). In the third game, Petro managed to regain the advantage, beating Interclube 80-62.

All things considered, in a total of four games, Petro won three and lost just one, having won their fifth championship on Saturday. According to the note from Petro de Luanda, the club has "consecutive achievements since 2019 until the current edition", except for 2020 in which the championship did not take place, due to the covid-19 pandemic.

"In the Eixo Viário gallery, 17 national champion trophies are stored, with only two remaining to reach the highest number of titles, 19, still in the possession of arch-rival 1.° de Agosto", the note also reads.

In the championship, Childe Dundão was in evidence. The Petro de Luanda player stood out in several categories "for his commitment this season". According to the Angolan Basketball Federation, Dundão was elected the most valuable player (MVP) of the final, best ball recoverer and even best assistant (124).

In turn, Aboubakar Gakou was elected the MVP of the regular phase, as well as the second best scorer with 223 rebounds.

Among the winners are Interclube player Elmer Felix, considered the "best three-point scorer this season"; Vila Clotilde player Valdemar Avelino, who was voted the championship's top scorer with 373 points; the Petro de Luanda B player Eduardo Simão who won the award for best two-point scorer in the championship; the player from 1.º de Agosto Elcanes Paka, winning the title of best free throw, and also the player from Casa do Pessoal do Porto do Lobito João Oliveira as a 'fair-play' player.

Furthermore, the best coach award was awarded to Sérgio Valdeolmillos, while the best referee award was won by António Bernardo.

In addition to the awards, the championship final was also marked by a tribute to Ângelo Victoriano, as well as the presence of Bruno Fernando. According to Angop, at the time of tribute to Ângelo Victoriano, who died in February, a frame was placed on the court with his hand-painted photograph and signatures from various individuals in the country.


Permita anúncios no nosso site


Parece que está a utilizar um bloqueador de anúncios
Utilizamos a publicidade para podermos oferecer-lhe notícias diariamente.