Ver Angola


President of parliament asks new members of the table for a “sense of mission”

The president of the National Assembly asked this Monday for “cohesion, ethics, dedication and a sense of mission” to the new members of the legislative body, in the exercise of their functions, to guarantee the “institutional stability” of the institution.


Carolina Cerqueira, who presided this Monday at the seat of parliament, the ceremony of handing over the portfolios of members of the board of the National Assembly, elected on Friday, considered that all deputies are committed to the legacy for future generations.

"I make an appeal for cohesion, ethics, constructive dialogue, dedication and a sense of mission to prevail in your daily activity so that, in strict compliance with the National Assembly's regulations, we can guarantee institutional stability in strict compliance with the Constitution and the law", exhorted.

Last Friday, parliament unanimously approved the final composition of the National Assembly board, including two deputies from UNITA as 2nd and 4th vice-presidents and two others as 2nd and 4th desk secretaries.

The deputy of the National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (UNITA), Arlete Chimbinda was elected 2nd vice-president and her colleague Xavier Jaime as 4th vice-president of the body, as intended by UNITA's leadership, which in September will leave parliament in bloc in protest at the election of MPLA deputies to their respective positions.

Amélia Judith Ernesto (UNITA) was elected 2nd secretary and Ernesto Cassongo (UNITA) 4th secretary of the National Assembly.

Thus, the Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA) took over the portfolios of 1st and 3rd vice-presidents, occupied by deputies Américo Kuononoca and Raul Lima, respectively.

For parliamentary table secretaries, MPs Manuel Dembo (MPLA) and Rosa Branca Albino (MPLA) 3rd secretary.

Speaking to journalists, after receiving the folders from deputy Raul Lima, the new 2nd vice-president of the National Assembly, Arlete Chimbinda praised the ceremony, referring that it took place in accordance with the law and within the framework of the proportional system.

"Yes, it was to be expected, because we follow the law and following the law, the norms here in the house indicate that everything is done according to the proportional system (...). What we did today is nothing new if it does not follow the law and restore normalcy", she noted.

The resolution that approves the recomposition of the National Assembly board was approved, last Friday, during the third ordinary plenary meeting of the first legislative session of the Fifth Legislature of the National Assembly, with 193 votes in favor, zero against and no abstentions.

The MPLA (124 deputies) and UNITA (90 deputies) are the parties with the highest parliamentary representation in this 2022-2027 legislature, which stems from the general elections of 24 August 2022.


Permita anúncios no nosso site


Parece que está a utilizar um bloqueador de anúncios
Utilizamos a publicidade para podermos oferecer-lhe notícias diariamente.