Ver Angola


Extraordinary CPLP Council of Ministers in March to integrate economic cooperation

The heads of diplomacy of the Community of Portuguese Speaking Countries (CPLP) are due to meet in an extraordinary Council of Ministers, on 28 and 29 March in Luanda, to approve the inclusion of economic cooperation in the organization's statutes.

: Ampe Rogério/Lusa
Ampe Rogério/Lusa  

According to an official source from that community, "the main objective of the extraordinary meeting of the Ministers of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Affairs is the approval of the proposal to revise the CPLP statutes", so that they start "accommodating economic cooperation" as the fourth pillar of action of the organization, a proposal of the Angolan presidency.

This was one of the priorities and proposals defined by the President, João Lourenço, now also acting President of the CPLP, for the biennium of the Angolan presidency.

The March dates for holding the extraordinary CM were proposed by the Angolan presidency at the last meeting of the CPLP Permanent Concertation Committee, the usual monthly meeting of ambassadors representing the nine Member States in Lisbon, according to an official source, who admitted that other topics can go to this meeting, but without specifying.

At the last summit of Heads of State and Government, which took place on July 17, 2021 in Luanda, in which Angola assumed the presidency of the organization, João Lourenço defined as the objective of the Angolan presidency the creation of a fourth pillar for the community, the of economic and business cooperation.

The CPLP currently has three pillars of action, or objectives, which it has always had since its creation, in 1996, and defined in its current statutes: "political-diplomatic concertation between its members in terms of international relations", " cooperation in all domains" and "the implementation of projects for the promotion and dissemination of the Portuguese language".

Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Mozambique, Portugal, São Tomé and Príncipe and Timor-Leste are the nine Member States of the CPLP.


Permita anúncios no nosso site


Parece que está a utilizar um bloqueador de anúncios
Utilizamos a publicidade para podermos oferecer-lhe notícias diariamente.