Ver Angola


Brazil invites Angola to be a G20 observer country

Brazil invited Angola and Portugal to be observer countries of the G20, which brings together the largest economies in the world, during the country's presidency of the group, the Brazilian Government announced on Friday.

: Facebook G20 India
Facebook G20 India  

In a statement, the Brazilian Ministry of Foreign Affairs recalled that "historically, the G20 presidencies invite non-member countries and international organizations to participate in meetings on their calendar of events".

In addition to Portugal and Angola, the Brazilian presidency invited Egypt, the United Arab Emirates, Spain, Nigeria, Norway and Singapore.

"Other countries should be invited to participate in the Leaders' Summit and in specific instances of the group in which they can make a particular contribution", added Brazilian diplomats.

In addition to these countries, Brazil also invited the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), World Bank (IBRD), United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), Andean Development Corporation (CAF), International Monetary Fund (IMF), New Development Bank (NDB), United Nations (UN), United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), International Labor Organization (ILO), World Health Organization (WHO) and World Trade Organization (WTO).

In the mandate that it will exercise until November 30, 2024, Brazil, which has chosen the fight against poverty and climate change as its central themes, intends to organize more than 100 working group meetings and around 20 ministerial meetings, culminating with the Summit of Heads of State and Government, which will be held in Rio de Janeiro, on the 18th and 19th of November 2024.

The members of the G20 are the 19 main economies in the world: United States of America, China, Germany, Russia, United Kingdom, France, Japan, Italy, India, Brazil, South Africa, Saudi Arabia, Argentina, Australia, Canada, Korea of the South, Indonesia, Mexico, Turkey, plus the European Union and the African Union.

The G20 was created in 1999, as a form of coordination between member countries at ministerial level, following a sequence of international economic crises: the 1994 Mexican crisis and the 1997 Asian Tiger crisis (which particularly affected Thailand, Indonesia and South Korea), the 1998 Russia crisis.

In 2008, at the height of the crisis caused by the fall of the Lehman Brothers bank, the countries held the first G20 summit of heads of state and government, in Washington (USA).

In the following two years, the summits were held biannually: in London (United Kingdom) and Pittsburgh (USA), in 2009, and in Toronto (Canada) and Seoul (South Korea), in 2010. From Paris (France) , in 2011, the meeting began to be held annually, in the city designated by the country holding the presidency.

Permita anúncios no nosso site


Parece que está a utilizar um bloqueador de anúncios
Utilizamos a publicidade para podermos oferecer-lhe notícias diariamente.