Ver Angola


Angola elected to rotate OPEC presidency in 2021

Angola was elected to the rotating presidency of the Conference of Ministers of the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) in 2021, replacing Algeria.


The election took place during the 180th OPEC meeting that took place, by videoconference, in Vienna, Austria, reports Angop.
Both countries were elected to office in December 2019.

The presidency of this conference of ministers is annual and in alphabetical order, with the vice president taking the lead the following year.
Angola already led OPEC in 2009, two years after joining the organization (2007), whose president at the time was former Petroleum Minister, Desidério Costa, who was assisted by Ecuador's former Minister of Mines and Energy, Galo Chiriboga .

Angola was admitted as a full member of the oil group during the institution's 143rd extraordinary conference, which took place in Abuja, Nigeria, on 14 December 2006.

OPEC has existed since 15 September 1960 and includes Algeria, Angola, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Nigeria, Republic of Congo, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Venezuela, Ecuador, Indonesia and Qatar.