Ver Angola


CPLP election observation mission will have 33 elements

The CPLP Electoral Observation Mission for the August 24 general elections will have 33 people and will remain in the country between August 19 and 27, the organization announced in a statement this Thursday.


The 33 elements of the Electoral Observation Mission (EOM) of the Community of Portuguese-Speaking Countries (CPLP), which will be headed by former Cape Verdean President Jorge Carlos Fonseca, were appointed by the Member States, the Parliamentary Assembly and employees of the organization's executive secretariat.

"CPLP observers will witness the final phase of the electoral campaign, the voting day, the counting of votes and the partial tabulation of the results, with the expectation of staying in the capital, Luanda, and the deployment of teams sent to other provinces", reads the statement.

The CPLP team of election observers "shall hold meetings with the candidate parties for the election, with the administration and electoral management authorities and with other electoral observation missions present in Luanda", the note added.

The CPLP, created in 1996, currently comprises nine member states: Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Mozambique, Portugal, São Tomé and Príncipe and Timor-Leste.

More than 14 million Angolans, including those residing abroad, are eligible to vote on 24 August, in what will be the fifth election in the country's history.

The 220 members of the National Assembly are elected by two methods: 130 members are proportionally elected by the so-called national constituency, and the remaining 90 seats are reserved for each of the country's 18 provinces, using the d'Hondt method, in which each one elects five parliamentarians.

Since the 2010 Constitution came into force, presidential elections have not been held, with the President and Vice-President being the first two names on the list of the most voted party in the national circle.

In the previous election, in 2017, the Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA) won the majority with 61.07 percent of the votes and elected 150 deputies, and the National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (UNITA) won 26.67 percent and 51 deputies.

This was followed by the Broad Convergence for the Salvation of Angola – Electoral Coalition (CASA-CE), with 9.44 percent and 16 deputies, the Social Renewal Party (PRS), with 1.35 percent and two deputies, and the National Front for the Liberation of Angola (FNLA), with 0.93 percent and one deputy.

The National Patriotic Alliance (APN) reached 0.51 percent, but did not elect any deputy.

In addition to these political formations, in the August 24 election there are also the Humanist Party (PH) and the Nationalist Justice Party in Angola (P-Njango).


Permita anúncios no nosso site


Parece que está a utilizar um bloqueador de anúncios
Utilizamos a publicidade para podermos oferecer-lhe notícias diariamente.