Ver Angola


Girabola already has a winner: 16 years later, Sagrada Esperança takes the title to Lunda Norte

Sagrada Esperança won the national football championship this Saturday, after beating Petro de Luanda, by 1-0, thanks to a goal scored by Luís Tati, in the 21st minute, in a game of the 30th and final round.


Sagrada Esperança won their second title 16 years later, and the first title, in 2005, was also won after a 1-0 victory over the same Petro de Luanda.

Petro de Luanda, on the other hand, wasted the opportunity to regain the title that has escaped its gallery for 11 years, despite continuing to be the most titled team in the national football championship, with 15 titles.

The 'diamantifers' finished Girabola in first place, with 70 points, against 67 for Petro de Luanda, which was second.

The title match was also negatively marked due to the abandonment of the field by the new champions, in the 35th minute, after a controversial penalty awarded when Sagrada won, 1-0.

The match was stopped for more than ten minutes, with Sagrada returning to the pitch after interventions by the governor of Luanda Norte province, Ernesto Muangala, and FAF officials, present at the 11 de Novembro stadium, in Luanda.

Then, the Brazilian Tiago Azulão missed the penalty to the delight of Sagrada and its supporters, who had started and threw chairs onto the pitch, due to the penalty awarded.

For the same round, Recreativo da Caála beat Recreativo do Libolo, coached by the Portuguese Paulo Torres, after a goal scored by Depu, in the 41st minute.

1º de Agosto thrashed the already relegated Ferrovia do Huambo by 4-1.

Bito, in the 24th minute, Natael, in the 32nd minute, Zini, in the 68th minute, and Edu, in the 87th minute scored the goals, and Benvindo, in the 73rd minute, reduced it to Ferrovia do Huambo.

As a result of the title won, Sagrada dethroned 1º de Agosto, which won the competition in 2019. In 2020, Girabola was not disputed due to the covid-19 pandemic.

Tiago Azulão, from Petro de Luanda, was the best scorer in the Angolan football championship, with 16 goals, followed by Dasfáa, from Interclube, with 11, and Mabululu, from 1º de Agosto, with 10.