Ver Angola

Banking and Insurance

Number of banks required to create systemic reserves increases to eleven

The National Bank of Angola increased to eleven the number of banks required to set up a reserve to avoid systemic risks, according to a note published on the regulator's website.

: Ampe Rogério/Lusa
Ampe Rogério/Lusa  

The creation of this additional capital reserve for systemically important banks (known by the English acronym DSIB), was applied last year to eight banking institutions, with reserve amounts between 1 and 2 percent.

The BNA has meanwhile decided to extend this obligation to three more banks, with the complete list now being made up of the following banking entities: Banco Angolano de Investimentos (2.0 percent), Banco de Fomento de Angola (2.0 percent), Banco BIC (2.0 percent), Banco Poupança e Crédito (1.5 percent), Banco Millenium Atlântico (1.5 percent), Banco Económico (1.0 percent), Banco Sol (1.0 percent), Standard Bank Angola (1.0 percent), Banco Keve (1.0 percent), Banco de Negócios Internacional (1.0 percent) and Banco de Comércio e Indústria (1.0 percent).

The capital reserve amounts will have to be constituted between January and June 2024, depending on the institutions to which they are applied.

The reserve aims to offset the risk that institutions of systemic importance represent to the financial system as a whole due to their size, importance to the Angolan economy, complexity and degree of interconnection with other institutions in the financial sector and, in the case of insolvency, the potential contagion of these institutions to the rest of the financial and non-financial system.


Permita anúncios no nosso site


Parece que está a utilizar um bloqueador de anúncios
Utilizamos a publicidade para podermos oferecer-lhe notícias diariamente.